In Arkansas, it is a crime to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or greater. If you are caught driving while intoxicated (DWI), you might be facing harsh penalties, including a license suspension, possible jail time or community service, fines and mandatory drug or alcohol counseling. Defending against a DWI charge can be complicated, requiring an understanding of the law, the facts and the science of how blood alcohol content is determined. At Vernetti Law, our attorneys have significant experience handling DWI cases both as prosecutors and defense attorneys. We will represent you throughout the process, fighting to have the charges reduced or dismissed by developing strong defenses to the charge.
In Arkansas, driving while intoxicated is a serious offense. First-time offenses can result in a minimum of 24 hours in jail, in addition to a license suspension of six months or longer. A skilled DWI defense attorney can evaluate the facts of a DWI case to put together the best possible factual and legal defenses.
An Arkansas DWI is charged whenever a person age 21 or older is caught driving with a BAC of .08 percent or higher. If the driver is under the age of 21, the crime is charged as driving under the influence (DUI). This crime only requires a BAC of .02 or higher.
Being charged with a DWI does not mean that you are guilty of the offense. There are many situations where people are falsely accused of driving while intoxicated, either due to faulty blood alcohol content testing or overly aggressive police officers who misinterpreted a person’s appearance or actions as signs of impairment. A DWI defense attorney can challenge the results of these tests and an officer’s conclusions about your intoxication.
If you are stopped on suspicion of driving while intoxicated, it is important to know your rights. You are entitled to refuse a roadside breathalyzer test and to perform field sobriety tests. Taking these tests can rarely help you, and will often be used against you in court. You also have the right to remain silent and should exercise that right by informing the officers that you are doing so. However, you will still be required to provide basic information such as your name, your license and registration. If you are arrested for a DWI, you will have to submit to a chemical blood or breath test. If you refuse to take these tests, you may face additional charges or penalties.
There are many ways to fight back against DWI charges. Pleading guilty without first consulting with an attorney can lead to many legal, administrative and practical consequences. An Arkansas DWI defense lawyer can work with you to put together a strong defense for your case, and potentially have the charges reduced or dismiss entirely.
At Vernetti Law, our attorneys have substantial experience defending clients against DWI or DUI charges. As former prosecutors, we understand how the system works. We will put our knowledge to work to help you if you have been charged with driving while intoxicated in Arkansas.
DWI DEFENSE ATTORNEYS IN BENTON AND WASHINGTON COUNTIES
The attorneys of Vernetti Law are committed to providing high-quality legal representation to clients who have been charged with a DWI or DUI in Arkansas. We work with our clients to fully understand the facts of the case so that we can put together a strong defense to the charges. We offer reasonable rates and flexible payment plans to ensure that our hardworking clients can afford our legal representation. Contact our office today to schedule a consultation with one of our experienced DWI defense lawyers. We offer services in both English and Spanish to meet the needs of all of our clients.